My Dream Job: Food PR.

You can probably tell my from blog roll that I am really passionate about food.  I love reading about, preparing, looking at, discussing, and, of course, eating food.

Two years ago I tried to convince my parents that I should drop out of college and attend culinary school in San Francisco. They wisely advised me to stay in school.

Reluctantly, I followed their advice, but I’m still dedicated to incorporating this basic necessity into my future plans. So, how do I combine my passion with my PR education? I need to get hired at the MacKenzie Agency.

This California based communications agency “does one thing really well,” and it’s my favorite thing. They are choosy about their clients,  considerate of their reputation, and focused on results. If there is one thing that matters in PR (and everything else), it’s results.

And are they getting them? You decide. They’ve garnered media attention for their clients in such significant industry publications as Food & Wine, Sunset, and Bon Appetit, and the attention of the New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and the Chicago Tribune.

Another stellar firm and dream employer of mine is Hunter Public Relations, a firm based out of New York, New York that represents many fields but focuses on the food, nutrition, and spirits industries. Why would I want to work for them? Because they are expert PR professionals who get to be creative and have fun.

My favorite example of their work is the “Bailey’s Shiver Truck.” Hunter PR’s goal was to get target audiences drinking Bailey’s® Irish Cream during the summertime, as it is usually thought of during the winter months and holiday season. The Hunter team created a summertime beverage, the Baileys Shiver Cocktail, and the Baileys Shiver Truck. On hot July nights in St. Louis or New York you could text “SHIVER” to 69866 and the truck would deliver ice to your party!

Hunter PR: Baileys Shiver Truck

Through my research I’ve found that if you want to do PR in the culinary industry, you don’t necessarily have to go to a big firm like Hunter or Mackenzie. This article that I found at The Nibble exemplifies the fact that restaurants and small businesses are really beginning to turn to PR as a way to expand their visibility. A public relations student like myself, or possibly like you, can approach small businesses as individual contractors and provide affordable services and fresh ideas.

Leave a Reply

